Union Jack Desk

As many of you know, Pinterest is an addiction! Once you start, you can’t stop! It makes me feel like I can do anything! But usually I just pin all my dream projects onto my various boards and then move onto the next pin, never actually completing any of them.   Well, I’ve made up my mind that I am actually going to start some of the projects I’ve been drooling over!

I LOVE all the Union Jack inspired painted furniture.  Here are a couple that I came across on Pinterest:

I love the dresser but wasn’t quite ready to take on painting the flag pattern on the faces of drawers…figured I would start a little easier with a desk top. We just so happened to have the perfect desk.  The desk below was used for a furniture painting demo in the shop and it has been awaiting a makeover.

First, I had to decide which paint colors I wanted to use.  For a bright, traditional Union Jack Flag I would use Annie Sloan Chalk Paint (TM) Pure White, Emperor’s Silk, and Napoleonic Blue. I wanted a slightly softer look so I went with Old White, Emperor’s Silk and Aubusson Blue. After I finished the painting…(and I won’t lie…it took me awhile)…I distressed it to give it some age and finished it off with a mixture of clear and dark wax.  What do you think??:

I love the final product and am so glad I FINALLY used some of the inspiration from Pinterest! This desk is now at our shop waiting for its new home…

What project will I tackle next?!

4 Comments

Filed under Chalk Paint® Decorative paint by Annie Sloan, DIY

4 responses to “Union Jack Desk

  1. carmen

    This looks AMAZING!!! When can I start following OWNH on pinterest?!

  2. I love it Carlene!! You did a fabulous job! I want to come visit you soon. Take care! Laura –

  3. Joan Corbett

    Beautiful finished product Carlene!!

  4. evdquemoncicoo1989

    Reblogged this on Max Patilla Summary.

Leave a Reply

